the spaz of fitness has arrived

Blessings Small and Large

In General, Training on March 25, 2013 at 5:46 pm

In a recent post, I discussed my mixed feelings about participating in the CrossFit Open. I still do not at all regret it, and am enjoying myself. My favorite part of the Open, however, has most certainly been the opportunity to act as a judge for other participants. I so adamantly acquired my Level 1 Certification in March because I wanted to be able to judge during these five weeks, and it’s been a profoundly rewarding experience. I’ve counted reps for firebreathers and for beginner athletes, and the experiences have been equally inspirational– as well as educative. I feel that I can grow as a coach from working with the truly competitive athletes, honing my eye for movement patterns as I count their reps, practicing my motivational abilities as I push them just to their threshold capacity. But working with less competitive members also gives me the chance to analyze hindrances in their movements, and to counsel them through the suck of 150 wall balls. I also feel just so lucky that I get to witness their discoveries of their own inner strength.

For 13.3, I counted reps for a ridiculous robo-boy who could divide his wall balls into sets of 50. I also judged for another, so admirably devoted member, who eventually broke her reps into sets of two. What we love about Crossfit, of course, is that it can humble anyone. Robolegs and Miss Resiliency fought equally hard for each rep. The former needed to slow down. He had the power in his legs and the engine to toss that ball up and down for eons, but he kept missing the target in haste. MR needed the encouragement to get back up– the confidence and faith in herself that she could rise from the bottom of the squat and heave those fourteen pounds back up her chest, even if she had to do it in one or two slow, grinding reps at a time. I’ve witnessed many remarkable things in CrossFit– seeing MR exceed her personal goal of 75 reps for 13.3 definitely ranks high on my list.

At minute 12, when she sank to the ground at the count of 76, I remembered that that’s what the Open is about– an inclusive event for athletes to gather and celebrate their individual levels of fitness, to challenge and exceed personal boundaries, to be inspired by one another’s will and determination. I’m just glad to be a part of it.

I apologize for the lack of posts lately. It’s been a weekend of madness. The Cookie Monster visited and we had a whirlwind weekend of awesome, trying to balance together-time with English-department-time and some quick gym-time as well. The best news? CM is officially becoming part of my State College reality this coming fall! He’ll be starting his MA in English literature (we’ll have to forgive him for not choosing a more exciting specialization– like creative writing or rhetoric… 😉 ). Athletically, CM is my polar opposite– a football veteran with a long history of strength training. So while I have him on burpees and bodyweight-ninja-funness, he can out-squat many of the stronger athletes at our gym. I hope, sometime between all the English homework next year, we’ll be able to learn and grow from one another’s strengths and weaknesses. I’m also counting on him to remind me to return to the English realm every now and again– as I may have to do for him. Regardless, I’m sure it’ll be an adventure, and I’m excited to see where it leads.

That said, I’m behind on just about everything and must return to lesson-planning and rhetoric research and somewhere in there writing a short story. Thank you all for reading. A better update soon, I promise. Until then– lift heavy, love profusely, and run only if something’s chasing you.

So grateful for everything,

– The Jomad

Leave a Reply

