the spaz of fitness has arrived

Free Stuff! Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil

In Food on August 27, 2012 at 9:45 pm

I’ve made no secret of my love for coconut products, so imagine my exuberance when granted the opportunity to review the Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil from Tropical Traditions. I use coconut oil for most of my primary cooking purposes– from frying eggs in the morning, to sauteing vegetables, to pureeing it with mashed sweet potatoes. It also makes a killer, easy  fudge. I prefer coconut oil because I find it’s a lot less harsh on my irritable stomach than a lot of other cooking oils. I’ve tried several different brands, but Tropical Traditions prides itself on its unique production process. From their website:

The fresh coconut meat is shredded (wet milled), and then cold-pressed using the water from inside the coconuts to make coconut milk. The milk is then allowed to sit for about half a day, while the oil naturally separates from the heavier water. The oil is then filtered from the curds (coconut solids). No chemical or high-heat treatment is used, and this oil contains no trans fatty acids. We do NOT mass produce this oil. It is made by families who are coconut farmers using old-fashioned traditional methods that have been used in the Philippines for hundreds of years.

I was a little skeptical about whether or not this process would be reflected in the taste– especially since we eat oil with other foods rather than by itself, but I was pleasantly surprised by the  depth of flavor of this product. Even just upon opening the jar, I noticed that the oil was smoother and softer than that of other brands. The entire jar has an even consistency, and the oil has a wonderfully rich, sweet butteriness that elevates even my rudimentary cooking techniques.

I’m also happy to announce that I’m hosting a giveaway for 1 quart of Tropical Traditions Coconut Oil (more details below). All you have to do is subscribe to their newsletter here, and send me an email at WanderingJomad@gmail.com telling me you did so. (Entries will close on Friday, September 7, 2012). The winner will receive 1 quart of deliciousness, shipped entirely free of charge.

Many thanks to the folks at Tropical Traditions for the opportunity to taste and review their product. Don’t forget to enter my giveaway so you can try it for yourself!

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose.  Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

TROPICAL TRADITIONS COCONUT OIL GIVEAWAY

Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil - 32 oz.Win 1 quart of Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil!

Tropical Traditions is America’s source for coconut oil. Their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil is hand crafted in small batches by family producers, and it is the highest quality coconut oil they offer. You can read more about how virgin coconut oil is different from other coconut oils on their website: What is Virgin Coconut Oil?

You can also watch the video they produced about Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil:

Tropical Traditions also carries other varieties of affordable high quality coconut oil. Visit their website to check on current sales, to learn about the many uses of coconut oil, and to read about all the advantages of buying coconut oil online. Since the FDA does not want us to discuss the health benefits of coconut oil on a page where it is being sold or given away, here is the best website to read about the health benefits of coconut oil.

  1. I love free stuff and I also love virgin coconut oil! Although I am using a different brand, I also love to try this one to see if they both give me similar benefits. Been using coconut oil as my natural moisturizer for several years already.

  2. […] The Wandering Jomad is giving away Organic Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil! […]

  3. I like the flavor that baking with coconut flavor gives. I also have used it to make deodorant!

  4. I use coconut oil for everything. I use it on my skin and for baking and frying and hair conditioner. I hear T.T. is really good. Would love to try it.

  5. I love, love, love coconut oil. I really like putting a tablespoon in my morning coffee to start my day off right.

  6. […] waiting for me. Happy Thursday. P.S. Don’t forget to enter my Coconut Oil giveaway! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. ▶ No Responses /* 0) […]

  7. I already get the Tropical Traditions newsletter. I also tweeted the giveaway and shared it on Facebook. Good luck everyone!

  8. coconut oil is great for baking

Leave a Reply

