the spaz of fitness has arrived

Two Days of Conjugate: Two PRs…

In Uncategorized on August 22, 2012 at 5:15 pm

I’m officially two days into my very experimental conjugate-based program, and loving it. Here’s what’s happened so far:

Day One [Max Effort Leg Day]

Squats 1 x 1 x 1 x 1 x 1 x 1 x 1
(hit a new one rep max at 142.5)

Assistance Work:

Sumo Deadlift 3×10

Glute Ham Raises… I only managed 10, 8, the 6. These are harder than I anticipated.

Pistols 2 x 15

I also did the box’s WOD, which was:

21-15-9
Sit Ups
Double-Unders
American Swings (24/16)

It was a quick one, but I loved it– the triplet equivalent of a full-out sprint.

The following day, my lower body was smoked. I was sore in places I’d forgotten I had– but it was a good soreness… the feeling that results from a good workout, but not the debilitating exhaustion that renders you incapable of climbing the stairs.

Day Two [Max Effort Upper Body]

Press 1 x 1 x 1 x 1 x 1 x 1 x 1
(Also hit a new one rep max here)

Assistance Work

JM Presses: 3 x8

Barbell Row: 5 x 5

Kettlebell Press: 3 x10

WOD:

4 RFT
200m
3 Strict Pull Ups
6 Power Snatch (75/50)
9 Dbl Squat Box Jumps (24/20)

Another really fun one… perfect length, and the right amount of reps for each movement so that I could go mostly unbroken, but still feel appropriately fatigued.

I’m still trying to figure out my timing– when to arrive at the gym so I can work in my strength without disrupting class, and when I can get away from the office to do so… it’ll be harder when classes start next week. However, I’m really enjoying the fact that the conjugate system is forcing me to learn these different movements. I hope it makes me a better-informed, better-equipped CrossFitter. Also, I’d planned to use the squat and press as my primary movements for the first three weeks, but Jefe recommends that I not repeat them if I PR’d this week… so I may shoot for 2 or 3 rep maxes on the same movement next week just to introduce a small variable.

I don’t want to get too cocky too soon. But I’m hoping it’s a good sign that switching up my programming was a step in the right direction.

Today’s a rest day so I can have the prescribed 72 hours of rest between Max Effort and Dynamic Effort days. (Lookit me, resting like a good Jo)

For those of you who might have never heard of a JM Press, fear not, I hadn’t either. Prior to attempting the movement, I consulted this video. My favorite part about this video is the first comment: “My gym told me to stop doing this dangerous exercise. They said people have been killed using this bad form.” It reminded me a bit of how many fitness practices are overlooked or eliminated due to poor education. Yeah… the risk of injury increases when you don’t know what you’re doing. Be smart, educate yourself, get a spotter if you need one… but don’t write off unfamiliar movements for lack of knowledge. Lessons of the day: JM Presses kill. Also, they’re pretty effective for working your triceps– you know, if you’re feeling “dangerous.”

Leave a Reply

