the spaz of fitness has arrived

Testing Maxes and Trash-talking

In General, Training on August 17, 2012 at 9:43 pm

So, at the conclusion of my 70’s Big Strength and Conditioning Program, I’ve re-tested all my one rep maxes. Now at a body weight of 109lbs (107-110 depending on the scale and probably time of day), I have the following one rep maxes:

Back Squat: 140lbs

Shoulder Press: 67.5lbs

Deadlift: 225lbs (Reached my over 2xbodyweight goal!)

Bench: 100lbs (A bit unhappy about this one. It was ugly, and I feel like I should be able to press more, but my technique is very, very sloppy.)

Power Clean: 85lbs x2. Though I can do 85 for reps, I can’t go any higher– again, I think I’m limited by technique here.

I feel all right with where I am– though admittedly most of my lifts are just a tad shy of where I’d hoped to be by the end of the summer. I know I’m greedy though, and am trying to apply more patience to my strength training. I’m happy with my deadlift, but I’d like to improve my back squat, and I’d like to add another ten pounds to my bench and clean, and hopefully get my press up to 75. Eventually. Immediately, I want to work on my squat and clean and my explosive power. By the time of the Iron Lion powerlifting open in November, I’d like to be able to put up a 150 squat, a 110 bench, and a 235 dead… I have about six pounds of bodyweight to play with and stay within the 115lb weight class, so… fingers crossed.

I almost had a heartbreaking moment when testing my deadlift today. I failed once at 210 before trying again. Afterwards, 215 went up easily, 220 was rough but manageable, and 225 was a good stopping point because my form was giving. But what happened during that first 210 fail? It should have been easy– I’d managed 195×5, so 210 should have been a given. But I knew I wouldn’t make the lift before the bar even left the ground. Something in my setup didn’t feel right. As I gripped the bar, I saw myself failing. I should have backed off and restarted. I’ve experienced this before with all the different lifts– the moment I imagine myself screwing up, I inevitably will. I don’t know how to keep myself from doing this, but I do know that I should learn to shed the ego and back off rather than attempt the lift anyway. Everyone says it– the body is capable of more than the brain thinks it is… if you let that mental self-doubt sneak in, it can sabotage you well before you reach your potential. I’m a master of self-sabotage. I’m always inside my head, always second-guessing. always predicting the many ways that things could go wrong. Ironically, just this morning, I ran across a post by CrossFit Games competitor Katie Hogan about “how to prep for a max effort lift.” She recommends psyching yourself up– in whatever way works for you. I’ve been working on this lately… I have two approaches: either channeling something that gets me angry, or repeating Sgt. Powerlifter’s slogan: “I’m going to make this weight my b*tch.” It’s silly, but the words allow me to embody an attitude that I can’t quite own on a regular basis. And–even if just for those few vital seconds– it allows me to mime a confidence that then become real when I pull the bar. So… Katie Hogan stomps and curses out her weight plates, I mentally demoralize mine with questionably sexist trash-talking. But hey… find what works for you 🙂

After testing my one rep maxes, I decided to participate in the box’s WOD. We could either run 3 miles or row 5k. Because I’d just maxed my deadlift, I felt more like a light jog than the prolonged torture of rowing… so I embarked on my three-miler, but foolishly slow. I missed the turn, and wound up probably running an extra mile or two after I got lost. Silly wandering Jomad. I didn’t mind the extra distance, but I’m regretting it a bit now since I’m not accustomed to endurance runs and the soreness is settling in. Mostly, I’m worried that I’ll be too sore to participate in tomorrow’s programmed “Nancy” WOD (sprints and overhead squats), but we’ll see how I feel tomorrow.

Oh! It’s been a while since I’ve mentioned anything food-related, but I’ve been experimenting with paleo-esque barbecue sauces just for fun… partially because I bought a case of tomato paste from Sam’s Club and needed to discover new things to do with it. Here’s what I have right now:

(Mostly) Paleo BBQ Sauce:

6 oz can tomato paste
1 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar
3 TBSP Mustard
1 TBSP Worcestershire Sauce
Splash of liquid smoke
Generous amounts of onion and garlic Powder and smoked paprika
3 TBSP water (to thin out the consistency)

Add honey, molasses, or apple juice if you prefer a sweeter flavor

Anyway. The new semester is only two weeks away and my professors have already sent out our first assignments… so my Friday evening’s about to be a blast. Happy weekend to you all.

Leave a Reply

