the spaz of fitness has arrived

Daily Foodstuffs and Swole Jo

In Food, Training, WOD on July 16, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Thank you to everyone who read my last, very emo post. I’m so grateful for all the supportive feedback I’ve received and reminded of how lucky I am to be part of such a wonderful community. Really, you guys rock… and I promise not to overrun you with the sappy stuff too often.

Did everyone catch the CrossFit Games this weekend? To be honest, I was a little disappointed to see last year’s heroes take first repeat their wins this year, but I admit that it’s unfair for me to begrudge them their hard work. My heroes this year, however are:

Matt Chan– the oldest competitor to take the podium, and this year’s second-place finisher.

Chris Spealler– the only competitor to participate in all six CrossFit games. At 5’5″ and 151lbs, he’s almost 60lbs smaller than a lot of the male competitors. The commentators loved that. But it was so inspiring just to watch him keep up with the other athletes. And never does he blame his performance on his size difference.

Talayna Fortunato– The women’s third place finisher. From my limited research, she seems to have burst out of nowhere. Just a spectator at last year’s games, she arrived full force this year. She discovered Rudy’s Outlaw Way programming via some other CrossFitter’s blog and began following it without knowing what it was. Eventually, she started making a splash in her region, and someone informed Rudy about it, whereupon he offered to coach her (distance coaching– lots of videos). Outlaw was already recruiting a small following before the Games. After Talayna’s incredible finish, and the success of many of their other athletes*, I expect it to explode soon.

[*Full list of Outlaw Games athletes:
Individuals –
-Talayna Fortunato – 3rd
-Elisabeth Akinwale – 7th
-Candace Hamilton Hester – 27th
-Candice Ruiz – 29th
-Alicia Gomes – 32nd
-Christen Wagner – 41st
-Rika Diederiks – 43rd

-Chad Mackay – 9th
-Patrick Burke –16th
-Justin Allen – 26th
-Austin Stack – 34th
-Kevin Simons – 37th
-Jason Hoggan – 38th
-Brandon Phillips – 42nd

Teams
-CrossFit Central – 13th
-CrossFit Champlain Valley – 18th
-Team Butchers Lab – 23rd
-CrossFit CDR – 24th
-CrossFit 7 Mile – 41st]

I was also crushed to see Kris Clever miss the podium by a single spot. She put up an incredible fight all the way through Fran, but couldn’t hang onto the bar for the last set of pull-ups. That’s where Talayna took the lead. I also find it interesting how strength seems to be the deciding factor for men (Chris Spealler, admirable as he is, just couldn’t keep up when the weights got heavy), but for the women the fight seems won or lost on gymnastics skills. All top three women were college gymnasts. Actually Annie (first place) and Julie (second place) were both gymnasts and pole vaulters. Some strange, magic combination there? Power, flexibility, body awareness…

As for my own training, the deadlift went well today. I actually had a revelation that I can drop the bar from the top of the lift and not guide it back down– thereby saving my strength for the next pull. I’ve probably been wasting energy this entire time doing it the other way. Anyway… I’m really aiming for a 200lb max before the end of August… fingers crossed. Not much more work today– just pull ups, a few rowing sprints, and some GHDs. I also played around with the reverse hyper, which made my lower back feel delightful. I need to look up some videos on proper usage though and make sure I’m not just flailing around on it like an idiot.

I’m also playing around with going to the gym later in the day. To be entirely (and again, all too) honest, I used to stick with the morning because 1) I’m obsessive and I like to check things off my “to-do” list ASAP… and even something as enjoyable as working out becomes part of that to-do list… but also 2) because my IBS used to be so awful that the morning was the only time I wasn’t in pain… Fortunately(!) eating mostly paleo has led to a major, major improvement in all of that. I suppose I haven’t given you an update since I started experimenting with the reintroduction of foods. Here’s what I’ve discovered thus far:

Dairy: OMG NO. … I knew I reacted poorly to dairy, but I’ve been on-and-off with yogurt for a while, so I decided to take a leap off the stupid cliff chance and try 1/3 a container of Greek Yogurt. That took about three days to fully recover. Never again. I was a big dairy fan as a kid so every now and then I have a lapse in judgment and think “maybe I can try just a little…” But really, if you see me ever thinking about reaching for something that comes from a cow-boobs again… slap me. Bad bad bad.

Wheat: Not great… some discomfort, but bearable… as in I don’t need to be crazy paranoid if there are wheat contaminants if I’m eating out, but still something I’ll avoid for my daily comfort.

Peanuts: Not an issue (HOORAY!)

Whey protein: Very much so depends on the brand. I’m guessing that some supplements have different percentages of lactose that may or may not upset my system. I’ve been very happy with Nitrean+ from AtLarge Nutrition. The owner, Chris Mason, is very active in the CrossFit community and answers all my obnoxious little questions about nutrition.

As for the other stuff… to be honest, once I eliminated it, I haven’t felt the need to bring it back– aka spend money on finding out whether I’ll feel horrible. I know that I react poorly to soybeans… I’m wondering if tofu will have the same effect on me (should be easier to digest, since it’s fermented), but I haven’t bothered to go out and buy tofu yet. Garbanzo beans seem acceptable. Not sure about other legumes.

I’ve also been caffeine-free for… what is it, almost a month now? I haven’t bothered to discover if it upsets my stomach because I don’t want to reintroduce the stimulant to my system. It’s pretty easy to stay off it now, but I’m pretty sure that if I had a taste, I’d go back to my cup a day. I may return to it once the semester starts up, but until then, I’m enjoy my days without energy crashes.

I’ve received a few emails asking about my daily foodstuffs, so I guess I’ll address that here. Keep in mind, I’m far from a nutritional expert, and what works for me might not work for you.

Breakfast: Usually an egg scramble of some sort (they used to be omelets, but I got lazy and stopped making them look pretty). Eggs, frozen veggies, and leftover meat. Roasted chestnuts.

Lunch: Turkey, homemade guacamole, and roasted or sauteed vegetables of some kind. Sweet potatoes.

Pre-workout: Deli meat wrapped around almond (or peanut) butter. Don’t knock it ’til you try it. Also, sometimes I have a few pieces of non-dairy cheese (not at all paleo, I know. But the soy additive doesn’t seem to bother me and I have a bunch left over from before I started the paleo experiment. Seems to be just the soybeans themselves that I shouldn’t have. I’m curious about soy sauce)

Post-workout: Nitrean+ shake, sweet potato

Dinner: Meat (beef, chicken, turkey, pork… thinking about trying lamb sometime), veggies (roasted or sauteed in coconut oil), mashed sweet potato dressed in coconut oil and smoked paprika.

Dessert: Avocado Mousse… also peanut butter.

Snacks: I snack a lot, despite the common paleo advice not to… Usually spoonfuls of peanut/almond/coconut butter, slices of deli meat, veggies with guac, frozen berries, that sort of stuff. Also, reheated sweet potato fries. Or cold sweet potato fries. In front of the fridge, straight from the tupperware. I’m classy like that.

I also drink a lot of almond milk, which is supposedly not paleo because of some additive or another… and coconut milk, even the stuff with guar gum because I really can’t bring myself to care about minutiae like that. As long as I’m not crippled with stomach pains, it’s fine by me.

As for portion sizes, I usually go with 1.5 to double the protein recommendations per meal, unlimited leafy greens, fist-size for all starchy carbohydrates, and unlimited fats. Keep in mind, I’m also a bit of a physical weirdo so this is probably only useful to small women trying to get swole :). That said, the scale reads 109 today. That’s fucking incredible. Unfortunately, I’m not lifting quite as much as I’d hoped to be around this weight, but I’m hoping that will come with time. Also, disappointingly, this means that my 200lb max won’t quite be 2xbodyweight as I’d hoped, but let’s just count on those lifts continuing to rise…

  1. I, too, was a little disappointed that Annie and Rich both won again. Not that I dislike either of them, but I guess I wanted someone else to share the wonderfulness of the win. Spread the victory a little, I guess.

    Do you know how similar you and I are??? I read your blog and feel like I could have written about half of it myself. 🙂 I’m a rhet/comp PhD and I teach writing — but I feel like I missed my calling as a CrossFit coach. I’m going for my Level 1 Cert next month at King of Prussia.

    If you’re ever in (or passing through) York, PA, look me up. 🙂

    • Woah that’s awesome! It’s great to meet a fellow CrossFitter trapped in the life of a rhetorician :p or vise versa, depending on the day. I’ve actually been to York briefly. One of my friends here in State College is from York, and I visited her childhood home for Easter last spring. It’s a pretty short drive. I’ve emailed with one of the coaches at KoP, and it seems like they have a fantastic crew over there. I’m jealous that you’re getting your Level 1. I’m still waiting for the day I can spring for that. If you’re ever in State College, we should definitely meet up 🙂

Leave a Reply

