the spaz of fitness has arrived

Spider-Jo

In Food, Training, WOD on May 18, 2012 at 8:40 pm
Image

A tasty spread at a Taiwanese restaurant. Guests select any number of vegetables, noodles, and meats (mostly organ meats– pig’s ear, chicken heart, pig intestines…) and have it cooked and sauced and plated. Delicious.

Well it didn’t take that long. Four days without CrossFit and I begin to get irritable. Don’t get me wrong… I love it here. I adore the pace of life, the food (omg the food), the atmosphere… Strangely enough, as much as I’d always resisted visiting Taiwan as a child, I now feel a sense of belonging here that I’d never had as a kid… it speaks to the part of Jo that must remain dormant for most of her life in State College. Unfortunately, CrossFitter Jo doesn’t have much of a place here. With no CrossFit gym– or, indeed, no access to a gym at all for the past few days and most likely the coming weeks, I miss lifting heavy things ;). It’s also the rainy season here right now, so it’s been pouring nonstop for the past four days. For those of you unfamiliar with weather on tropical islands, by “pouring” I don’t mean heavy rain; by “pouring” I mean God has upturned a bottomless bucket of water that is shitting indiscriminately over everything. I mean I wake up in the middle of the night to what sounds like waves crashing on the rooftop. Anyway… with the significant decrease in physical activity, I’ve actually started climbing the walls– literally. I’ve discovered that one can do dead-hang pull-ups by clinging to the edge of a door. Not ideal, but it absolutely prevents you from cheat-kipping, or even curling your legs up.

This morning, just before the drizzle rolled in, I took my jump rope to the park across the street and did a short AMRAP. 15 Minutes:

Sprint (a loop between two pagodas and stone turtle statues… I’d guess ~150m)

20 double unders

10 “ski-abs” (This is not at all a CrossFit maneuver, as far as I know… I stole it from my Shaun T “Insanity” days…)

I chose the ski abs because mountain climbers tend to wear my shoulders well before my abs and I never feel them in my core… but I don’t think 10 was enough of the ski abs to get much of an effect either. I have to figure out an effective core movement that doesn’t require me to sprawl down on the questionably black and slushy Taiwanese concrete…

That said, I’m so happy to be here and grateful that I had the opportunity and resources to save up for this trip. I’ve managed to not at all touch any of the work I’ve brought with me, but it’s still the first few days of “vacation,” right? Supposedly, I’ll have read through the entirety of a course syllabus I’ve drafted with my dissertation adviser by then (roughly 2 anthologies of articles and another 15ish articles, maybe?), I hope I’ll manage that…

Wishing all of you well back in the States.

Leave a Reply

