the spaz of fitness has arrived

Reading with Ravenclaw

In Training, WOD, Writing on May 2, 2012 at 11:38 am

I snuck in for the 8:00am class today, eschewing the scheduled WOD to fit in my lifts. I’m very sad to miss out on this WOD though (remember the ode to partner WODs?). Today’s looked particularly entertaining . The Jefe seems to have a penchant for designing fun, interactive workouts.For those interested, here’s the partner WOD:

2 min rds, followed by 2 min rest, 3x

-Partner WB over rig (20/14)

-Alternating Airsquats

-MBC, only one partner may work at a time (20/14)

Basically two minutes of a med ball toss over the rig with your buddy, two minutes switching off air squats, then two minutes switching off medball cleans, then 3 minutes rest, repeat for two more rounds. Maybe if I find a buddy, I’ll give this one a shot sometime. However, it would’ve been a bad idea to do this before my squats so I dragged my butt beneath the barbell today.

Squats 3×5, Press 3×5, and three sets of pullups to failure.

Since I was muttering about the summer hours yesterday, I’m considering readjusting my training schedule:

Wednesday: Squat 5×3, Press 5×3, Pullups 3 sets to failure

Thursday: Power Cleans 3×5, Dips 3 sets to failure, Conditioning work

Friday: Conditioning or Skill Work (possible day to work in snatches– at a lighter weight– if the cleans don’t tear me apart the day before)

Saturday: Squat 3×5, Bench 3×5, Dips 3 sets to failure

Sunday: Deadlift 1×5, 3 sets of Pullups to failure, Conditioning

Monday: Conditioning

Tuesday: Off

But I’m not necessarily fond of that configuration because I would be entirely unable to participate in Saturday WODs, which are often fun and often heroes… I wonder if it would be awful to flip the  squat and deadlift days so I could use that as my warmup before a class workout. But I’m worried about fussing too much with the program since it’s working so damn well at the moment. :-/ We’ll see. I dither alot– you’ll get used to it.

On an entirely different, not-at-all-CrossFit-related note, a friend of mine is poised to become head of the House of Ravenclaw. Yes, that’s right– as in, J.K. Rowling*, as in Harry Potter, as in Cho-god-that-actress-was-awful-if-they-needed-a-token-Asian-couldn’t-they-have-hired-me-except-she’s-prettier-and-Scotish-but-omg-she-needs-to-stop-looking-like-a-moron-Chang, as in British wizards and magic and quidditch and all such other fun things. Apparently, the Peace Corps has conjured up an interesting idea in a Harry Potter-themed camp to help the local community:

Harry Potter Camp is a 10-day English language summer camp held in Ukraine, just outside of the capital. This camp has been planned by Peace Corps volunteers as a model to teach local community members the skills necessary to organize camps and other community events and projects in the future. Therefore, the goal is not only to teach English to the youth attending the camp, but to also provide a framework for sustainable projects within the community.

They’ve organized classes around Harry Potter themes, such as potions (cooking), or quidditch (team-building). As a burgeoning instructor, I really enjoy the thought process behind this project– finding innovative ways to breathe life into the practice of education. In a tenuous way, I guess that is connected to CrossFit. After all, its success is rooted in the fact that it has removed fitness from monotonous rounds on the elliptical or long, solitary sets on a weight bench. It’s made fitness a team effort, a shared practice, or (at times) a competitive pursuit.

*As a writer, I have my reservations about Rowling. I do find the books entertaining (and grew up on them, like many others in my generation), and I support anything that encourages individuals to read. I believe her talent is in storytelling– in finding something that appeals to such a vast audience– rather than actual prose (have you listened to some of those sentences? Jarring)… I also believe she’s incredibly lucky and there’s very little nuanced or insightful about the books themselves. In short, I think she’s a writer, but not worthy of the hyperbolic praise lavished upon her nor deserving of the reactionary Harry-Potter-bashing that followed. However, I did think book 7 was a travesty. And the act of writing that epilogue should be punishable by death**…but that’s another tirade for another time, I suppose.

** or at least death by burpees.

  1. I think the art of storytelling is more important then your flare in words… people love stories and if you can convey it even in the simplest of words, you’ve done your part. I think thats what Rowling did.

    • Jeyna,
      First of all, thank you for reading and responding to my blog. It’s nice to hear from other writers in the blogosphere. However, I think you meant to type “the art of storytelling is more important than a flair for words.” Moreover, I didn’t mean to imply that one was more valuable than the other. I believe that truly masterful writing– the works of art that linger with us long after we’ve set down the pages– integrates both elements and uses one to enhance the other. You are correct, however, that Rowling told her story in “the simplest of words”– or something close. And that simplicity, I believe, made her accessible to the average reader and encouraged her success.

  2. […] get myself back on schedule, I didn’t do any lifting yesterday. Instead, I made up that partner WOD with Scotchy. It was a fun time, and not too exhausting. I’m a horrible shot with a medball […]

Leave a Reply

