the spaz of fitness has arrived

Deadlifts and Snow

In Training, WOD on April 23, 2012 at 9:47 am

Some days, you wake up and you lift your old deadlift one rep max for five reps without realizing that it was once your projected, untested 1rm. These are good days. Some days, you wake up as an Arizonan in Pennsylvania and you discover that it’s fucking snowing– no, blizzarding— on April 23rd. These are less good days. Sometimes these events combine and you learn to live with it.

After the deadlifts, today’s WOD, courtesy of the Mean Machine was a total blast:

As many reps as possible of burpees:

10 seconds ON , rest 50 second

20 seconds ON , rest 40 second

30 seconds ON , rest 30 second

40 seconds ON , rest 20 second

50 seconds ON , rest 10 second

1 minute ON: rest 3 minutes,

then…. 3 rounds for time:

30 kettlebell sumo deadlift high pull (1.5/1)

30 AS

I think I was a little overzealous about the burpees. I was smoked for part two, but I regret nothing!

That said, I’m happy with the strength programming right now and trying not to fuck too much with it. However, the box is hosting the Warrior Games on Saturday. It’s a large event in which participants are welcome to do a full Murph (1 mile run, 100 pull ups, 200 push ups, 300 squats, another 1 mile rune), a half Murph (divide that by two) or a quarter Murph (duh). Or a team Murph. I already gave a small rant about my love of hero WODs. Out of some… silly adherence to principle, I don’t like the idea of unnecessarily scaling a hero. But on the other hand, I still think maybe I should. I have nothing to prove to myself– they’re all bodyweight movements that I can do, and I know I can complete about as many rounds of Cindy (20 rds x 5 pull ups, 10 push ups, 15 air squats) in twenty minutes (give or take)… and the mile run on either end would be slow but do-able, but I’m scheduled for heavy squats and bench on Sunday and I’d be a little disappointed in myself if my numbers there suffered because I did 200 push ups and 300 air squats the day before. I can’t tell if I’m resisting the idea of doing a lesser Murph due to pride (which would be stupid) or out of principle (still stupid? Is there a distinction here?). Anyway, I do however enjoy the idea of teamwork in WODs and I think team-heroes are even more appropriate as a tribute to men and women who died in service of others. So if any of you Warrior Games participants are looking for a Murph buddy, I’m signed up as a loner Saturday morning, but I’d love a teammate!

Ah okay, I spent nine hours straight in front of the computer last night, editing over 200 manuscript pages. I will be meeting with my adviser about that in a few hours, and then teaching, then most likely spending the rest of the day working on a presentation for one of my seminars. I hope your day involves less desk-and-computer time than mine.

Happy snowy-ass Monday.

– Jo

Leave a Reply

