the spaz of fitness has arrived

The Trifecta

In WOD on April 20, 2012 at 2:37 pm

*

Though I used to dread cleans anytime they appeared in a WOD, Olympic lifts are now one of my favorite things to practice. I still have a long way to go in terms of form, technique… raw strength, etc, but I enjoy chipping away at it– tweaking small things in my practice, finding what works and what doesn’t. Today was power clean day. Five sets of three, and a new 3RM for me 🙂

Then I tried a sprint-based WOD

AMRAP 12 minutes:

WOD:

125m row

100m sprint

20 double unders

For those of you that have been experimenting along with me for my workouts (I apologize for some of the duds), this one’s a good one. I’ve already expounded on the many merits of the burpee, and I’ve waxed poetic about the partner WOD. The CrossFit trifecta for me would have to be: partner WOD, AMRAPs, and burpees.

I find that nothing really helps me get away from my work and my frenzied thoughts as effectively as an AMRAP. Somehow, I find it easier to bring the intensity when there’s no endpoint (5 rounds, 100 counts, etc…), when I’m just supposed to keep going until the clock beeps. I’m also a fan of low rep schemes… they attend well to my OCD. By the time my legs start burning on the rower, it’s time to jump to a sprint. By the time my body’s ready to scream, I’m slowing to do my double-unders. Also! I only broke about once during each set of double unders, which I know isn’t too impressive for most people out there, but for my uncoordinated self, it’s a pretty substantial improvement in my rope technique :).

Now I must go acquire beer for an English department event tonight. Ah drunk writers…

Happy Friday!

 

*I realize a the triforce is rather different from a “trifecta,” but I couldn’t help myself…

Leave a Reply

